top of page
  • The Cedars

3 Must-Read Books for Seniors

Topping the charts of the most common New Year's resolutions are exercising, eating healthier, and reading more books (GoSkills). Since exercising and eating healthy aren't as exciting to talk about (though they certainly are good for you), we're going to dive into some must-read books for seniors to start off your New Year. If reading more books is on your to-do list for this year, then here are some books seniors may enjoy.



The Nightingale

by Kristin Hannah


This book takes place in France during the occupation of World War II. For history buffs that love a good story centered around family ties, navigating the murky waters of right and wrong, and how to take a stand while caring for the ones you love, then this book will be for you! It focuses on the lives of two sisters who live in France and experience the occupation of the German forces. The book follows their stories, as you watch them respond to the challenges and complications of their unique circumstances and how they both react to the occupation differently. Kristin Hannah's masterful story-telling wraps you up in history and leaves you weeping and clinging to hope for these two sisters as they navigate the treacherous world they've been thrust into.


The Help

by Kathryn Stockett


Set in Mississippi in the 1960s, this fictional book is about a white society girl who returns to her hometown determined to be a writer. She begins to turn her small community upside-down with the help of a few brave black women who are willing to share their stories. As they begin to chronicle the lives and experiences of the women in the black community, lives begin to change and become upended. Unlikely friendships are forged in the fires of persecution, and together they bring change to the high society of Jackson, Mississippi.


This story is about women heroes, who are brave enough to speak out and stand up, even at great cost to themselves. If you love a story of friendships forged under fire, different cultures joining together to better understand one another, and a delightful upending of a bully's power, then you'll be sure to enjoy The Help.


The Chemist

by Stephenie Meyer


If you're looking for James Bond meets paranoid chemistry major, this book has what you want! Alex, who chooses gender neutral names for her false identities, is on the run from the US Government. An ousted chemist, who knows too much about US military operations, is living by a set of uncompromising rules and just trying to survive. But when an old boss reaches out with an apology and a job, the chance to start over is too good to be true. She warily accepts the job, and discovers the intrigue goes deeper than she ever expected.


Filled with danger, this book is for fans of David Baldacci & John Grisham. This is an intellectual suspense novel with a hint of a love story that will leave you on the edge of your seat wondering what happens next.




The Cedars Retirement Community is a beautiful lakeside retirement residence located just outside of Fort Wayne, Indiana. The Cedars Retirement Community offers a full calendar of gathering times, hands-on activities, and fun events. Located just outside of Fort Wayne, Indiana, The Cedars believes in providing the highest quality of life and opportunity for seniors. We want to ensure that the latter years are lived with joy, enthusiasm, and relational connections. Please contact us with any questions or to schedule a tour of our beautiful lakeside retirement community.


2 views
bottom of page